Thulo.Com is an online community of Nepalese around the globe.

Arghakhanchi is one of the districts of Lumbini Zone in Nepal's Western Development Region. The district headquarters are Sandhikharka.


The district consists of two pre-unification principalities Argha and Khanchi. Argha (Nepali:अर्घ) was the name given to ritual offerings made at the former principality's main Bhagwati temple. Khanchi may come from the word Khajanchi (Nepali:खजाञ्चि) or tax collector since the center of the latter principality was known for its tax office. This remains a topic of debate since the principality was established in Saka era 1357 (1435 A.D.), long before the creation of a tax office.


Argha and Khanchi were two of the Chaubisi rajya (24 principalities) centered in the Gandaki Basin. In 1786 A.D. (1843 BS) during the unification of Nepal the two were annexed by Gorkha. Later the merger was renamed “Arghakhanchi” and added to Gulmi District. Arghakhanchi became a separate district in 1961 A.D. (2018 BS).

Notable local temples include Supa Deurali Bhagwati, Argha Mahakali and Chetradev. Argha Durbar, Khanchi Rajsthal, Narpani, Kissankot and Ranipokhari are significant sites in the political history.


Arghakhanchi lies between 27'45"N and 28'6"N latitude, and 80'45"E to 83'23"E longitude. It covers 1,193 km². 68% of the district is in the mountainous Mahabharat Range and the rest is in the Siwalik Hills. Elevations range from 305–2575 m above sea level and about 40% of the total area is forested.[2]

Arghakanchi is surrounded by Lumbini Zone's Palpa district to the east, Gulmi to the north, and by Terai districts Kapilbastu and Rupandehi to the south. To the west are Rapti Zone's Pyuthan and Dang districts.

The extreme western part of the district borders Jhimruk Khola, a tributary of the Rapti. Otherwise the Mahabharat Range is the main hydrographic boundary where northern slopes drain into the Kaligandaki River and everything south of the crest drains into minor drainages ultimately crossing into Uttar Pradesh, India. Streams in the district include Bangikhola, Bangsari Khola, Mathurabesi Khola, Banganga Khola, Durgakhola, Sitakhola, Khakabesi Khola, Rangsing Khola, Ratne Khola, Jhimruk Khola and Khankbesi Khola etc. Lakes in the district are Thada lake and Sengleng lake.

Towns and villages

Adguri, Argha, Arghatosh, Asurkot, Balkot, Bangi, Bhagawati, Chhatraganj, Chidika, Dhakawang, Dhanchaur, Dharapani, Dhatiwang, Dhikura, Dibharna, Gorkhunga, Hansapur, Jukena, Jaluke, Keemadada, Kerunga, Khan, Khanchikot, Khandaha, Khidim, Khilji, Maidan, Mareng, Narapani, Nuwakot, Pali, Parena, Pathauti, Pathona, Pokharathok, Sandhikharka, Siddhara, Simalapani, Sitapur, Subarnakhal, Thada, Thulo Pokhara